Winner of Vocalist of the Year at the 2004 Island Music Awards, Songwriter of the Year and Artist of the Year at the 2005 IMA, and Favorite Jazz Artist at the 2006 M Awards, singer/songwriter Anne Schaefer has attracted national and international attention with the 2005 Canadian release of her debut album, Twelve Easy Pieces (Roadhouse Records/SRI).

Generously funded by the Canada Council for the Arts and masterfully co-produced by Schaefer and rising star producer Joby Baker, Twelve Easy Pieces showcases the originality of Schaefer’s genre-blurring compositions and the excellence of her vocal and instrumental musicianship. Also evident on the album is Schaefer’s unique, intelligent and edgy songwriting style. On Twelve Easy Pieces, Schaefer collaborates with a host of dynamic musicians, including Hugh Fraser, Daniel Lapp, Scott White and Douglas Schmidt.

Schaefer’s musical diversity places her comfortably in venues from intimate cafés and theatres, to festival main stages and concert halls. This flexibility has allowed her to share the stage with artists ranging from Canadian songstress Mae Moore, to jazz drumming legend Roy Haynes. Schaefer is also a sought after session musician and has recorded as a guest artist on such albums as, Agua Del Pozo/Alex Cuba, Back to Francois/Rachelle van Zanten, Sacred Lines/Paul O’Brien, and many more.

Anne is currently presenting her pre-production concert series leading up to her May 2008 follow-up CD recording for a fall 2008 Canadian release and tour. She is based in Victoria, B.C. on Canada’s west coast.